The Edit – One Word Photo Challenge – April 10, 2015

This is this week’s black and white Wordless Wednesday:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s a large iron and glass affair that I saw in front of a restaurant in Murano – the canal is seen in the reflection … inside a dinner table waits for a client.

One of my readers asked me to do a walk through with the editing.

I used Picasa 3 but most of the apps in Picasa 3 can be found on just about any editing program.

Here is the original:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After fixing the colour adding some highlights/fill lights to bring out the lantern –  I then decided to crop and straighten it:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I then added a little shadowing and ‘warmified’ it – in other words added flesh tones, which brought the lantern out nicely … but I wasn’t pleased with the general colouring so I saturated and contrasted a bit:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At this point – the colours were emphasized enough to try to go black and white – so I used the filtered black and white app filtering out some of the red – added a drop shadow frame and signed the finished work!

Here’s the same photo after using a mock HDR app and adding a pinkish tint to the b&w photo:OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And with this last edit, I’m linking the post to One Word Photo Challenge for this week’s colour – copper

9 thoughts on “The Edit – One Word Photo Challenge – April 10, 2015

  1. Oh, awesome! Thanks for the walk-through! And you know, it would fit nicely with the one word photo challenge this week — copper. Interesting how you’ve achieved a different mood with each edit. This is a great post 😀

    • You’re very welcome. I like taking a photos of lanterns, lamps and the odd this or that. To use them for an illustration though I usually have to do some editing to pull out that particular piece that I wanted in the first place. What really defeats me are birds … darn things fly too fast for my shutter times! Glad you enjoyed the post!

  2. Pingback: One Word Photo Challenge: Eigengrau | Jennifer Nichole Wells

Leave a comment