Weekly Photo Challenge: Golden Hour

This weeks Daily Prompt Weekly Photo Challenge is dedicated to the Golden Hour…and what is the Golden Hour, I would have asked myself just a few short weeks ago, but I came upon many photographers posting photos of dawn and dusk, calling them the Golden Hour!

So, the Golden Hour: “The Golden Hour. In photography, the “golden hour” is the first and last hour of sunlight of the day”

@)–>–>–

Here are two photos from my last two trips to Illinois U.S.A.

Car at SunsetThis photo was taken in September of 2010, in a parking lot near Carlyle, Illinois.

IllinoisThis photo was taken while riding in my sister’s car past one of the many artificial lakes, actually mine fills, near Carbondale, Illinois in June 2012.

If there is really one thing that is difficult, if not impossible is to shoot a dawn or dusk in a small valley…but, I’ll try going out tomorrow morning early on the lake and see what I can come up with…

For more fantastic photos dedicated to the Golden hour just click here.

Thanks for dropping by.

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Golden Hour

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour | Memory Catcher

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: The Golden Hour (Naxos) | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Marvelous. I just recently had a discussion with someone who tried to claim that a sunrise and sunset looked exactly the same. This obviously came from someone who never saw one or the either, or both. I will be directing him to your site so he can see the remarkable difference between the two.

    • 🙂 well they are hard to tell apart actually…basically though you can be sure it’s dawn when you can make oodles of photographs without people…you’d be surprised how few are about at that hour! Poor person must live in a valley like I do…I have to go out of region to see a proper sunrise or sunset, but I can protract the so called Golden Hour for a very long time just by riding from my house to less than 6 kilometers away…where I live the sun tips the mountain two hours after Riva del Garda! I just found that out this morning.

  4. Pingback: Golden Morning Glow | Jake Kuyser

    • If I’m not mistaken the name of the lake is Crab Orchard Lake…there were some great sunrises and sunsets last year…it was the rest of the day that you might have thought that you were in Hades…the other photo was really great, right in the middle of fields…there was a tiny church where my niece was going to be married, I was amazed by the color! The car was my bros.

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Golden Hour Architecture | Humbled Pie

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour « Brooklyn Locavore

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour | small house/BIG GARDEN

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: The Golden Hour | The Panama Adventure

Leave a Reply

