Photography: Sunday Walk – Rovereto (TN) Italy

I thought I’d try to take you all with me on a virtual walk around some place I’ve been to and taken photos.  I hope to make this a Sunday event…

Today, as I’ve just published a Weekly Photo Challenge dedicated to a couple of interesting photo’s from Rovereto, I thought I’d take you on a walk we went to that city not long ago.  Unfortunately it was a rainy day but lately every day is a rainy day!

Our central goal was to visit the Fortunato Depero Futurist Art House and then just roam around a bit.  The Art House was DePero’s home;  he left it to the city of Rovereto to be used as a Futurist museum.  It is the only Futurist museum in Italy.   The city has recently restored the building creating a beautiful setting for his and other artist’s work.

When we arrived we found a parking spot near the Leno river:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love these old apartment buildings that look over the river…the small structures that you see on the terraces used to be outhouses (some still were in use when I arrived in Italy 40 years ago), now they are used as storage closets.

apartment buildingsOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe went directly to the Depero Futurist Art House…unfortunately it is prohibited to take pictures inside the building, but you can see some in the link anyway at least I took a shot at the roof from the entrance courtyard!

Museum EntranceWe were informed that we could see two sculptures that Depero had made for a hat shop! So off we went after visiting the exhibition, and found a lovely window as well (I love windows and bridges so couldn’t resist!)

Hat ShopWindowsThen we just moseyed along taking in the view:

ArchwayPiazzacovered sidewalkAt the end of this covered sidewalk we came upon the Fortress:

The FortressAnd turning left to return to our car…this lovely scene met us!

Public BuildingPublic Building detailImagine my delight…a covered bridge with windows!

Bridging BuildingsHave a wonderful Sunday! 😉

12 thoughts on “Photography: Sunday Walk – Rovereto (TN) Italy

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sign Says – Trial 2 – Welcoming the Meter Readers! | Bastet and Sekhmet

  2. Nice pictures, Bastet! What prompted me to comment is you saying that lately, every day is a rainy day. What is going on with the weather this spring? It’s about 10 degrees Celsius out here and it’s June! This morning, I realised that I had been kidding myself that the warm, spring days would still come, only a bit later than usual. As if they were kept in store somewhere…Silly, isn’t it? 🙂

    • Know how you feel…same here it’s cold and I’m in a heavy sweater…the 2nd of June! Some have said that from the 10th on we should be getting hot weather (let’s remember the solstice is the 21st) but some French person said we might not see warm weather at all this year! Enough to pull out the guillotine! To me it seems strange.

  3. Thank you Bastet for the Sunday walk. Very nice to live in such old culture is still alive. All people know how to do in the US is destroy.

    • Well, for the most part, there isn’t much choice really, in the old town centers…they’re made in stone and have been around long before America was a gleam in a Pilgrims eye.

Leave a Reply

