Weekly Photo Challenge: Trial 3 – The Bakery Shop (27 May, 2013)

bakery shop

The weekly photo challenge this week is background.  “In the Background: The places that we pass through day after day, or even once in a lifetime, leave in their small way, echoes and traces of themselves upon us. But so often when taking self portraits or pictures of friends, the places themselves become a soft blurred mush of indistinct semi-nothingness, the limelight stolen by our smiling faces. In today’s challenge, let’s turn the tables. Take a picture of yourself or someone else as a shadow, a reflection, or a lesser part of a scene, making the background, or — as in the example above — the foreground, the center of attention.”

Searching out backgrounds…this is our local bakery, and as I was going to the store I saw this reflection of one of my neighbors as he was returning to his home;  he and the building in front of the store, became Background!

Other entries!

13 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Trial 3 – The Bakery Shop (27 May, 2013)

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background (Power) | What's (in) the picture?

    • Yeah…I was back in the States visiting last summer…you couldn’t walk anywhere…everything had to be reached by car, and they didn’t even live in the country or anything!!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background | blogagaini

  3. I like the photo…and I want to go to the bakery, too. Whether or not you can walk somewhere in the States depends where you live. I can walk to the post office (about a mile), several large shopping malls (if I wanted to), a nice grocery store and many other smaller places.

    janet

    • I’ll have to come and visit your part of the States! Actually, I was talking about where my family for the most part lives, Southern Illinois- Carbondale area…but I did go visit my nephew in Athens, Georgia…and decided that if I were ever to return to the great continental country, I’d like to go to a place like that or maybe Washington State with it’s lovely nature. I hope you found your way to the bakery! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Internal Reflection of the Background | Humbled Pie

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: In the Background | Ryan Photography

  6. Pingback: An Irish General… and me | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis and Me

Leave a Reply

