Weekly Photo Challenge: Looking down from the Castle

A view from the Castel

A view from the Castel

I came upon Weekly Photo Challenge and thought I’d participate with a photo reflection on change.

Looking down from the ruins of Castel Beseno reminds me of the distant past and how much life has changed over the centuries.  Walking among these walls, I can imagine what life might have been, with armored knights and veiled ladies, not to speak about the “common” people, who served as cooks, servants, blacksmiths, millers or one of the other many trades that were needed to keep a castle running efficiently.

Below we would have seen the mud hovels of the serfs and maybe a few stone buildings of artisans or minor noblemen.  Now we see the sleepy but modern village of Besenello, which lies at the beginning of the Vallagarina 15 km south of Trento.

If you like photos, you might want to take a look at the link above, where you will be able to see the various entrys…Have a wonderful time! Ciao.

Other Participants!

10 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Looking down from the Castle

  1. I live in a castle built about 1000 years ago. As I haul my groceries (or my dog hauls me!) up a winding stone stairway, it’s hard not to think about the ones who stepped before me — so many that their centuries of steps have worn a gentle dip in each stone step along the way. I wonder if my own steps will leave a microscopic addition to document my time here.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change (Cahors – Going down the Aisle) | What's (in) the picture?

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change (Cahors – Walking down the Aisle) | What's (in) the picture?

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change (Malta – Just Married) | What's (in) the picture?

  5. Pingback: WordPress Photo Challenge: Change | Woven Decor

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change | patriciaddrury

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Change (Avebury – Sense making in Fashion?) | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

